Patron: Her Majesty the Queen (1953-2022)

Honorary Member: HRH King Charles III

The Megan Fitzoliver Brush Award

The winner of The Megan Fitzoliver Brush Award is Deborah Walker RI RSMA for her painting ‘Be Still’

Deborah says:

It’s easy to be moved by an aerial panorama of the sparkling Thames at sunset or to feel the exhilaration of crashing waves on a beach, but there is a different kind of magic to be found in secluded backwaters.

The inspiration for ‘Be Still’ is from such a place near to my home in Staffordshire. I like to walk at the end of my working day, to breathe and clear my head. It’s a quiet time.

A favourite walk is at the far side of my village around tree-lined lakes where I’ve become interested in the water’s edge.

My favourite conditions are depicted in ‘Be Still’ when there is almost no movement on the surface.

While noticing the spacing of the reeds and their seductive reflections, I’m also aware of the surface tension and below, where reeds have fallen and sunk to create a basket that cradles the whole. ‘Be Still’ is about looking, being present in the moment, noticing the small stuff and it makes me almost hold my breath.